Chapters‎ > ‎Philadelphia‎ > ‎

About Philly Chapter

Contact Us:
Learn about Our History

LRIG Philadelphia's Mission

The LRIG Philadelphia Chapter serves the Delaware Valley, with a membership consisting of individuals from the area’s pharmaceutical and biotechnical industries and also from the many academic institutions in the region. Each year we typically hold a Technology Exhibition to showcase the latest in laboratory instrumentation, automation, software, reagents and consumables.  We also host an annual Scientific Meeting in which we strive to present topics ranging from cutting-edge biotechnologies to thought-provoking challenges in today’s life sciences. Both meetings provide a wonderful networking opportunity for area scientists and engineers to connect and share ideas. We are continually looking to broaden our scope, and we encourage  suggestions for future meeting themes. 

Chapter Officers

Chair: Rodney Bednar

Dr. Rodney A. Bednar is a Drug Discovery Scientist and Industry Leader in the Biochemistry and Automation of Lead Optimization Assays, Workflows, and associated Knowledge Management.  Dr. Bednar has recognized expertise in all aspects of early drug discovery and has provided leadership and critical scientific contributions—from early lead identification, through profiling, lead optimization, and mechanism of action studies—that supported the successful advancement of over a dozen drugs (including Aggrastat®) into clinical trials.   Additionally, Dr. Bednar employs a unique combination of scientific, process engineering, and technology skills to maximize efficiency, cost-effectiveness, and quality.  Dr. Bednar is known for conceiving and implementing global best practices for drug discovery.  

Dr. Bednar is Professor of Biochemistry at the Pennsylvania Drug Discovery Institute.  Dr. Bednar held various positions of increasing responsibility at Merck Research Laboratories (MRL), the research center of Merck & Co., Inc., including Senior Investigator and Director.  He worked within Merck’s Basic Research Departments of In Vitro Sciences, Medicinal Chemistry, Pain Research, Molecular Pharmacology, Pharmacology, In Vitro Pharmacology, and Biological Chemistry.  Dr. Bednar maintained an adjunct faculty position at SUNY Stony Book, where he held joints appoints as an Assistant Professor of Pharmacological Sciences in the Medical School and an Assistant Professor of Chemistry in the School of Arts and Sciences.

Treasuer: Jean Husten

Jean Husten received her Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Oklahoma, and then did a post-doc in the Department of Neuroscience at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. After that, Jean took a position in the amyloid group at Cephalon, focusing on discovering inhibitors of the amyloid precursor protein processing enzymes. After a few years, she moved to the Lead Discovery and Profiling Department where she was responsible for maintaining the compound libraries plated for HTS. Within the group Jean also developed and implemented assays for HTS for a variety of targets. Following Teva’s acquisition of Cephalon, Jean joined the Global Bioassays and Technology group and is now leading the Protein Science group. Her group develops and runs binding assays on the Biacore and also develops and runs ADA assays for immunogenicity assessment.

Jean has been involved with LRIG Philadelphia since its incorporation, serving on the board in various roles.

Board Member: Scott Rehlander

Scott has been writing and architecting software in the biotech automation industry since 2006. He has experience developing robotic scheduling algorithms, writing interfaces for in-house devices, developing operating system agnostic APIs and integrating complex sample management systems. His experience lies primarily in .NET including C#, XAML and WCF. He also has experience with technologies such as ASP MVC, jQuery, PHP, Windows Phone, iOS, Android and various enterprise database management systems. Scott graduated from Framingham State University with a B.S. in Computer Science.

Steering Committee

  • Michael Beyer
  • Darryl Davis
  • Susan Fichera
  • Neal Gliksman
  • Jackson Hyde
  • Zina Itkin
  • Dennis Murphy
  • Johanna Mylet
  • Alex Tobias
  • Terri Ruch